Maternity Hike: The Final Days on Trail 100

Strangers no longer hesitate to comment on my pregnancy.

Strangers no longer hesitate to comment on my pregnancy.

“It’s a long walk back if you start having labor pains!” a friendly man blurted at me on the trail the other day.

Now that I’m just two weeks away from my due date, hiking has become less like hiking and more like a slow waddle through the dirt. Lately, I’ve been hitting a very, very, very simple trail that’s near my home (and my birthing center) and I only hike with my husband at sunset.

And I only do this on days when I really feel up for it.

On that note, I probably won’t be up for hiking during the next couple months (though I will be up all hours of the night with a newborn baby). Rest assured, I’ve got a guest blog in the works (thank you Kate Crowley!) and will be back on the trail as soon as I can.

Trail 100 to The Bench

Distance: 1.4 miles

Elevation Gain: 25 feet-ish (maybe less)

Difficulty: Ridiculously easy

Late Pregnancy Difficulty: Moderate (because if it’s strenuous, time to head home and put your feet up)

Location: North Mountain Visitor Center in Phoenix Mountains Preserve

I re-used a map from another blog post. But you have to forgive me because I'm super pregnant.

I re-used a map from another blog post. But you have to forgive me because I’m super pregnant.

Description:

To start the hike, find the signs to Trail 100 on the south side of the North Mountain Visitor Center building. Head west along Trail 100. At 0.3 mile, Trail 100 and Trail 306 combine and you’ll follow the shared trail south. When you encounter a small clearing with a bench and the trail marker for Trail 101 (at 0.7 mile total), it’s time to turn around.

But make sure you sit on the bench for a minute and hydrate. Because you’re super pregnant.

(If you’re not super pregnant, click here for a longer version of this hike).

 

Like this? Want more? Buy my book!

Obligatory disclaimer for the pregnant ladies and all other humans: Check with your doctor before engaging in exercise.

One thought on “Maternity Hike: The Final Days on Trail 100

Leave a Reply

